The Kemerovo Region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and is a part of the Siberian Federal District. The Kemerovo Region was formed on January 26, 1943, by the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR, from the Novosibirsk region. It coincides with most of the territory of Kuzbass – Kuznetsk coal basin. The area of ​​the region is 95 725 km ²; on this indicator the region occupies 34 place in the country. The population of the region is 2 708 844 people. (2017), population density – 28.30 people / km² (2017). The majority of the population lives in cities, there are significant territories with low population density. Share of urban population: 85.85 % (2017). The Kemerovo Region is the most densely populated part of Siberia and the Asian part of Russia. Russians account for more than 90% of the population. Of the small peoples in the region live Shorians, Teleuts and Siberian Tatars, who have preserved their cultural traditions. The administrative center of the region is the city of Kemerovo. The population of which is 556,920  people. (2017). Together with other cities (Topki, Berezovsky and others), the region forms the Kemerovo agglomeration with a population of more than 685 thousand people (2014). The second largest city (after Kemerovo) is the city of the region – Novokuznetsk. Population – 552,445 people (2017). Not being a millionaire city, it forms numerous more than 1.3 million people (2014), the 13th place in Russia, with numerous nearby cities and other towns. The region is located in the southeast of Western Siberia, occupying the spurs of Altai and Sayans. The length of the region from north to south is almost 500 km, from west to east – 300 km. It borders on the north-east and north with the Tomsk region, in the northeast – with the Krasnoyarsk Territory, in the east – with the Republic of Khakasia, in the south – with the Republic of Altai, in the south-west – with the Altai Territory, in the northwest – with the Novosibirsk area. Administratively it consists of 20 cities and 18 districts.  

Kemerovo Region

What to visit in the Kemerovo regionMuseum-reserve “Tomsk Pisanitsa” located on the right Bank of the Tom river 55 km downstream from the city of Kemerovo. The basis of the Museum was an ancient sanctuary-a rock with drawings of the stone age. Tomsk scribe, having arisen at the end of the Neolithic, at the turn of the IV-III millennia BC existed as a sanctuary until the I Millennium BC Rock with drawings of ancient people on the banks of the river Tom, opened at the turn of the XVI-XVII centuries, for hundreds of years attracted the attention of researchers.The nature reserve “Kuznetskiy Alatau” was established on 27 December 1989. Its total area 412 900 hectares, located in South-Central Siberia in the highest part of the ridge of the Kuznetsk Alatau on the territory of the Village, Novokuznetsk and Mezhdurechensk districts of the Kemerovo region. Kuznetsk Alatau is not a single ridge, and consists of several ranges of medium height, between which are located the most beautiful river valleys.Kemerovo regional Museum of local lore is the leading and oldest Museum in the region, the largest repository of natural and historical monuments of Kuzbass, including the paleontological collection. The Museum was opened in 1929.Kuznetsk fortress, historical and architectural Museum.Kuznetsk fortress-a monument of history and architecture of Federal importance – is located in Novokuznetsk, Kemerovo region. The area of the fortress is about 20 hectares.KemSU Museum “Archaeology, Ethnography and ecology of Siberia” – this fascinating Museum is located in the city of Kemerovo. The Museum funds contain more than 130,000 items. In addition to materials on archeology and Ethnography of southern Siberia, there are copies of petroglyphs of Altai, Khakassia, Tuva, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan, osteological, paleontological, Zoological, entomological and ornithological collections.