The Republic of Buryatia (Buriad Ulas, short name: Buryatia) is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation, a republic in its composition. It is part of the Siberian Federal District, part of the East Siberian economic region. Formed May 30, 1923 as the Buryat-Mongolian Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic. The capital is the city of Ulan-Ude. The area is 351 334 km ² (2.05% of the territory of Russia). Population – 984 134 [1] people. (2017). The population density is 2.80 people / km² (2017). It borders on the west, north and east with the subjects of the Russian Federation – the Republic of Tuva, the Irkutsk region (with a five-hundred-kilometer section along the Baikal water area) and the Trans-Baikal Territory. The southern border of Buryatia with Mongolia is the state border of the Russian Federation.  

Republic of Buryatia