The Chelyabinsk Region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and is part of the Urals Federal District. Administrative center: the city of Chelyabinsk. The Chelyabinsk Region is an industrial and agrarian region located on the border of Europe and Asia, in the southern part of the Ural Mountains (at the junction of the Middle and Southern Urals) and the adjacent West Siberian Plain. It was formed on January 17, 1934 from the southern regions of the abolished Ural region. In the north it borders on the Sverdlovsk region, in the east – with the Kurgan, in the south – with the Orenburg, in the west – with Bashkortostan, in the southeast – with Kazakhstan.