The Sverdlovsk Region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and is part of the Urals Federal District. The administrative center is the city of Yekaterinburg. It borders on the west with the Perm Krai, in the north with the Republic of Komi and the Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug, in the east with the Tyumen Region, in the south with the Kurgan, Chelyabinsk Regions and the Republic of Bashkortostan. The foundation date of the administrative center of the region is 1723, when the State Metallurgical Plant on the Iset River began work. At one time, the region was part of the Siberian province, and then the Trans-Ural region of the Perm province of the Russian Empire. It was formed as a region of the RSFSR on January 17, 1934, when the Ural Region was divided, in the present borders from 1938 – after the separation of the Perm Region from its structure.