The Astrakhan region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and belongs to the Southern Federal District. Borders with the Volgograd region – in the north, with Kalmykia – in the west, with Kazakhstan – in the east, in the south – it is washed by the Caspian Sea. The administrative center of the region is the city of Astrakhan. Astrakhan region (49 024 km ²) occupies the 6th place among the eight regions of the Volga region