Oryol Oblast is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation. It is part of the Central Federal District and the Central Economic Area. Borders with the regions: in the north with Tula, in the east with Lipetsk, in the south with Kursk, in the west with Bryansk, in the north-west from Kaluga. The date of education is September 27, 1937. The population is 754,816 (2017), the proportion of the urban population is 66.72%. The area of the territory is 24 652 km ². The administrative center is the city of Orel. The region is divided into 24 municipal districts and 3 urban districts.