Smolensk region (Smolensk region) is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and is part of the Central Federal District. It borders on the Moscow, Kaluga, Bryansk, Pskov and Tver regions of Russia, as well as the Mogilev and Vitebsk regions of Belarus. The area is 49 779 km ². The population is 953,201 people. (2017) The regional center is the city of Smolensk, the distance to Moscow is 365 km along the motorway   .