The Tula region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and is part of the Central Federal District. The administrative (regional) center is the city of Tula. The distance from the center of Tula to the center of Moscow is 185 km; from the northern outskirts of Tula (entrance to Tula “Krasnye Vorota”) to the southern outskirts of Moscow (South Butovo) – 150 km. It borders: in the north and north-east – from Moscow, in the east – from Ryazan, in the south-east and south – with Lipetsk, in the south and south-west – with Orel, in the west and northwest – with Kaluga regions. On the territory of the Tula region there is a polycentric Tula-Novomoskovskaya million agglomeration-conurbation. The area is 25 679 km ². The population is 1 499 417 people. (2017).