The Tver Region (until 1990 – Kalinin Oblast) is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation and is part of the Central Federal District. The administrative center is the city of Tver. In the Russian Empire and the RSFSR until 1929 there was the Tver Province. Borders with the Moscow, Yaroslavl, Vologda, Novgorod, Smolensk and Pskov regions. It was formed on January 29, 1935.