North-West Federal District (NWFO) – the federal district of the Russian Federation (RF) in the north and north-west of its European part. The Okrug comprises 11 constituent entities of the Russian Federation, with a population of 13,899,310 (9.47% of the Russian population as of January 1, 2017) and an area of 1,686,972 km² (9.85% of the territory of the Russian Federation). Formed by the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation of May 13, 2000. The center of the district is a city of federal significance in St. Petersburg.