The Penza region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation. The region is located in the center of European Russia, it is part of the Volga Federal District. The administrative center of the region is the city of Penza. The region borders with the Saratov region in the south, with the Tambov region in the west, the Ulyanovsk region in the east, the Republic of Mordovia in the north, and the Ryazan region in the north-west. The region was formed by the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR of February 4, 1939.  

Penza region