The Rostov region is a constituent entity of the Russian Federation in the south of the European part of Russia and is part of the Southern Federal District. The administrative center is the city of Rostov-on-Don. In the east, the Rostov region borders on the Volgograd region, in the north – from Voronezh, in the south – with the Krasnodar and Stavropol Territories, the Republic of Kalmykia, in the west – with Donetsk and Lugansk regions of Ukraine. In 2007, the Bank of Russia issued a commemorative coin dedicated to the Rostov region.